top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophieOlivia

Practice Degree Show

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

Fabriano accademia roll 120gsm 1.5 x 10m

using ink water and Indian ink using large brush and mark making.

For my practice degree show I wanted to create something that showed my roots of my practice but create something that was taking a risk, I decided to order a fabriano accademia roll which was 120GSM 1.5x 10M. From having previous tutorials I was told the idea of stekcthing paper however when I began to work on a larger scale I actually loved the way it would bubble up and crease in some areas because it makes my work look more connected within the way I work. From working on previous studies I found I was working around the same scale so I wanted to experiment with working on something out of my comfort zone. I waited until I saw the venue and space before I created my piece, I had under a week. What was unsuccessful was my time management I didn’t realise because it was such a large scale that it would take a day or 2 to dry up, each layer would have to dry before adding another layer ontop which creates this fluid technique, I couldn’t dry with a hairdryer because it would ruin the flow of the ink drying which Is something I trailed beforehand. Therefore I was left with a day to finish the mark making which I used a dry brush technique which added more depth into my work. Overall when I layed my roll on the floor of the venue I placed it with work I thought would help compliment eachother, then I began to love the work I created. If I was to improve this it would be to produce multiple drawings so the Audience would roll out the paper.





9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page